DPR confirms Platforms Africa Exclusive Story on Shakeup, Deputy Directors


Six new deputy directors promoted to fill vacant positions, DPR spokesman says



The Department of Petroleum Resources (DPR) on Tuesday confirmed the World-Class exclusive investigative story published by Platforms  Africa on the shake up; removal and replacement of six deputy directors, at the agency.

The Oil sector regulator, which confirmed the news over 24 hours after it was broken by Platforms Africa, maintained that it had promoted “six deputy directors to fill vacant positions” created by the shakeup “in the regulatory agency.”

Head, Corporate Affairs, DPR, Mr Paul Osu, confirmed this in a statement issued on Tuesday in Lagos. He did not mention names of new deputy Directors.

But Platforms Africa had, in an exclusive report published about 31 hours earlier listed all the names of both the new and the old deputy directors as well as their departments.

READ THE EXCLUSIVE STORY HERE https://platformsafrica.com/2021/03/29/exclusive-major-shake-up-rocks-dpr-six-deputy-directors-removed/

Meanwhile, Osu said that the promotions followed the retirement of various officers across several units, in line with the Public Service regulation.

He said the promotions were in line with the Federal Government’s desire to reorganise the Department for better service delivery in line with international best standards.

DPR Logo

He said the DPR remains committed to its mandate of creating an enabling environment for businesses in the Nigeria Oil and Gas Industry to thrive.

Described by some staff of the agency, which has newly moved its headquarters to Abija, as a “compulsory but massive retirement of deputy directors,” the gale of shakeup blew away six of the seven deputy directors.

Platforms Africa eatlier reported authoritatively that the affected deputy directors are Head, Corporate Services, Mr. Isah Tafidah; Head, Engineering and Standard, Engineer Akann Musa; Head, Downstream Monitoring and Regulation, Mr.Mohammed Alaku; and Head, Upstream Monitoring and regulation, Mr. Enorense Amadasu.

Others are Head, Safety, Health and Environment, Mr. Olusanya Bajomo; Head,Planning, Mr. Johnson Ajewole; and Head, Gas Monitoring and Regulation, Mr. Musa Zagi.

A DPR staff sealing a erring filling station

All the affected deputy directors were said to be seniors to Sarki Auwalu, the current Director before he was elevated above them.

This online newspaper further reported authoritatively that the list of new deputy directors includes Mallam Ciroma who is replacing Mr. Isa Tafida as Head, Corporate Services; Akann Musa who is also named as Head, Engineering and Standard, the position he has held before now; Mr. Sadiq Bashir who is replacing Mr. Mohammed Alaku as Head, Downstream Monitoring and Regulation; and Mr. Garba Salihu new Head, Upstream Monitoring and regulation, and a replacement for Mr. Enorense Amadasu, a list obtained èxclusively by Platforms Africa showed.

Others are Mr. Balogun A.A, a replacement for Olisanya Bajomo as Head, Safety, Health and Environment; Mr.Babajide Fasina, new Head, Planning, and a replacement for Mr. Johnson Ajewole; and Mr. I.Y Abubakar, new Head, Gas Monitoring and Regulation, and a replacement for Mr. Musa Zagi.

Related posts

Leave a Comment